More mobility, this time SAP

After my post back in August about the Partition Mobility video posted on YouTube, I got a few emails about the steps it actually took, what it looked like etc.

Walter Orb at the IBM SAP International Competence center along with Mattias Koechel have produced an excellent, instructional and illustrative example of Power Live Partition Mobility. Unfortunately, it hasn’t been published publicly because it isn’t a straight video but created with a tool called camtasia and it is not a polished marketing piece, neither was the YouTube video, but this one’s more educational.

It made some of the steps clearer for me, also it shows that you can use Power 6 Live Partition Mobility with SAP, rather than the Oracle workload shown in the earlier video. If you are interested in seeing in, including the relevant HMC screens, performance monitor etc., comment here or email me and I’ll get you a copy for Windows.

[Update] I just got to read the press release accompanying this weeks announcements, it includes a great customer reference for Live Partition Mobility and SAP. The quote is from Informations-Technologie Austria (iT-Austria), the leading Austrian provider of IT services for the financial sector, and can be found here in the full press release.

[Update: 10/29/08] Almost a year later and I still get requests for this video. I’m delighted to say it’s online now and can be found on this ibm.com web page and is now available in Flash and Windows Media versions.

5 Responses to “More mobility, this time SAP”


  1. 1 Narty Austria November 13, 2007 at 3:04 am

    If you are interested in seeing in, including the relevant HMC screens, performance monitor etc., comment here or email me and I’ll get you a copy for Windows.

  2. 2 AlexR November 21, 2007 at 3:20 am

    Hi

    I would be interested in seeing this.

    Cheers

    Alex

  3. 3 Julio Cesar November 26, 2007 at 11:25 am

    Hi,
    I would like to receive a copy of this video.
    Thanks,

    Julio Cesar

  4. 4 C.F. Looijen October 29, 2008 at 5:07 am

    I would like to receive a copy of this video.

    Kind regards,
    Kees Looijen

  5. 5 cathcam October 29, 2008 at 11:01 am

    Thanks, I’ve update the blog entry, but for those that like to see their links:
    http://www-03.ibm.com/support/techdocs/atsmastr.nsf/WebIndex/PRS2921


Leave a Reply

About & Contact

I'm Mark Cathcart, formally a Senior Distinguished Engineer, in Dells Software Group; before that Director of Systems Engineering in the Enterprise Solutions Group at Dell. Prior to that, I was IBM Distinguished Engineer and member of the IBM Academy of Technology. I'm an information technology optimist.


I was a member of the Linux Foundation Core Infrastructure Initiative Steering committee. Read more about it here.

Subscribe to updates via rss:

Feed Icon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 643 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 83,106 hits

