Local StorageTek Legacy

May 2016

When I first moved to Colorado, I was fascinated and amused, sometimes twice per day on the school run, I’d pass Tape and Disk(or was it disc?) Dr. The roads led to nothing. and empty site, full of scrub grass and weeds. I’d always assumed it was a failed tax break development scheme. This seemed particularly likely as there is a large multi-property multi-family housing development across the street.

I was surprised recently on a Wednesday morning ride when one of the guys I was riding with declared he used to work at StorageTek there. I was fascinated. Although I remember IBM had a plant here that developed laser printers, but I knew that location was sold to Lexmark.

Rather than the roads leading to an undeveloped location, the location had at one time been a thriving location. Some poking around on the Denver Business Journal website revealed the story, and google maps had some pictures of the site in better days and from I36 you can even see some of the buildings. The picture below is a 2008 aerial picture of the site. Disk Dr is the road onto the site in the upper right, and Tape Dr on the lower right.StorageTek

From the Denver Business Journal

Asides from questions about the future of the site, the only real question is when did the site transfer between Louisville and Broomfield cities, see pictures above.

10 Responses to “Local StorageTek Legacy”


  1. 1 David June 20, 2016 at 8:59 pm

    It was not long after the Sun acquisition. Storagetek disk R&D and software development were there. I believe Nigel Dessau was somehow involved in that after he left IBM.

  2. 2 David June 20, 2016 at 9:01 pm

    FWIW, the printer plant was in Boulder, colocated with the Ricoh complex at 6100 sw Diagonal Hwy (home of all service tapes).

    • 3 Mark Cathcart June 20, 2016 at 9:08 pm

      Indeed, if you read through the links, Nigel was head of the tape division. Nigel is of course a personal friend. I’ve reached out to him for updates. Thanks for the observations David.

  3. 4 rjstanford June 21, 2016 at 8:26 am

    “Never underestimate the bandwidth of a station wagon full of tapes hurtling down the highway.”

  4. 6 Terry Ray Anderson February 25, 2019 at 9:32 pm

    I worked there 1986-88 as a “Moving Man”, mostly going to all seven buildings and moving office furniture or equipment, so I got to see just about all of the things going on at that time. A big thing can be seen in the Arnold Schwarzenegger movie “Eraser” when Vanessa Williams uses the Aspen (the code name when I worked there was “Iceberg”, or vice versa, it’s been 32 years!) Tape Drive Silo to obtain information. I saw all the components in tests, moved many of them, and even moved a full sized model to Boulder and Nederland for promotional filming. My Dad worked in Remote Diagnostics for ages too and retired just before Sun took over. Back in it’s heyday STC (earler STK) sure was a jumping place!

  5. 9 Nigel Dessau May 25, 2023 at 6:52 pm

    I left IBM on April 1st 2015 – bonus got paid at end of q1. I think i took month off and then started at STK. Sun had been looking at STK but my sense was the deal was off when I joined as CMO. Pat Martin called me into his office 6 weeks later to told me the business had been sold. It took 6 months to close.

    Why did Sun buy STK? My sense is they swapped Cash for Profit. The problem was that Sun was pretty much doomed by then. That’s another story.


  1. 1 stony brook dissertations Trackback on July 27, 2021 at 10:29 pm

Leave a comment




About & Contact

I'm Mark Cathcart, formally a Senior Distinguished Engineer, in Dells Software Group; before that Director of Systems Engineering in the Enterprise Solutions Group at Dell. Prior to that, I was IBM Distinguished Engineer and member of the IBM Academy of Technology. I am a Fellow of the British Computer Society (bsc.org) I'm an information technology optimist.


I was a member of the Linux Foundation Core Infrastructure Initiative Steering committee. Read more about it here.

Subscribe to updates via rss:

Feed Icon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,066 other subscribers

Blog Stats

  • 90,342 hits