Linkedin Pulse – More walls and barriers

Dell has been encouraging team members to post to the new linkedin Pulse, which came to LinkedIn as part of a $90m acquisition last year. I’ve been looking at it from my phone and tablet while travelling and wrote this summary today, I thought it worth sharing here with many of my tech’ savvy friends, colleagues, and readers.

http://www.victoriana.com/gardening/winsford.htm“I won’t be participating. I assume you never got answers to my questions,  mostly because as expected,  LinkedIn are trying to recreate the best of the Web inside a walled garden.

That is, they appear to have introduced a new comment and groups system,  are encouraging posts which are really better suited to either public blogs,  news websites,  or company websites.

I can’t work out the link semantics,  making it difficult to share anything outside linkedin.  There seems to be little or no moderation on comments and discussions.  The article on CISO and Target is a good example,  follow on to the comments.

I suspect they won’t make full articles available to search engines,  and you will have to be logged in to LinkedIn to read them.

Since I’m not invested in LinkedIn,  and not in classical marketing,  I can’t see any value of helping LinkedIn recreate the Internet inside linkedin. ”

Did I get it wrong? LinkedIn is trying to be the facebook place where recruiters and marketing people hangout.

 

0 Responses to “Linkedin Pulse – More walls and barriers”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About & Contact

I'm Mark Cathcart, formally a Senior Distinguished Engineer, in Dells Software Group; before that Director of Systems Engineering in the Enterprise Solutions Group at Dell. Prior to that, I was IBM Distinguished Engineer and member of the IBM Academy of Technology. I'm an information technology optimist.


I was a member of the Linux Foundation Core Infrastructure Initiative Steering committee. Read more about it here.

Subscribe to updates via rss:

Feed Icon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 643 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 83,169 hits

