Software, Swainson, Forrestor analysis

Forrestor have published an interesting analysis of the new announcement that John Swainson will be joing Dell next month, I’m not sure about the protocol for passing on information such as this, by I thought it was an interesting analysis. “Suddenly Dell is a software company, and can flourish under new President John Swainson“. Kevin Kwang, over on ZDNet Asia expands on the Forrestor analysis here.

2 Responses to “Software, Swainson, Forrestor analysis”


  1. 1 Dubiously Ex-Dell November 30, 2016 at 3:48 pm

    Now that the dust has settled, and DSG has been sold for 50 cents on the acquisition dollar, do you have any updated thoughts on John Swainson and his disastrous tenure running Dell’s software assets?

    • 2 Mark Cathcart November 30, 2016 at 4:27 pm

      Well for a start it’s not a 1:1 comparison. Given I’m ex-dell also, I have to be somewhat careful about what I put online. Swainson shuttered many of the underperforming and loss making assets, aka products that Dell acquired. They also shutdown many small offices. Much of that expenditure will have been a useful expenditure and tax deductible. Those losses can be carried forward for upto 7-years as far as I’m aware.

      So, it’s pretty difficult to judge his tenure unless you are Michael Dell and know what you asked him to do. I don’t.

      Personally, I made a mistake moving from the hardware division to the new software division which ultimately cost me my job. My reason for moving was to develop a lightweight distributed top-of-rack, server, storage, and networking based monitor and configuration tool that was entirely based on message passing. We had developed a prototype but were struggling to find funding in the hardware division.

      Just one week after joining the emerging software division, I was told that idea was dead, and I was asked to be the R&D Executive for the acquisition.

      So its fair to say, I can’t be fair and balanced about my experience. Thanks for your comment.


Leave a Reply

About & Contact

I'm Mark Cathcart, formally a Senior Distinguished Engineer, in Dells Software Group; before that Director of Systems Engineering in the Enterprise Solutions Group at Dell. Prior to that, I was IBM Distinguished Engineer and member of the IBM Academy of Technology. I'm an information technology optimist.


I was a member of the Linux Foundation Core Infrastructure Initiative Steering committee. Read more about it here.

Subscribe to updates via rss:

Feed Icon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 998 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 83,488 hits

