Advanced Engineering Summit

I’m out in Bangalore India this week for the first ever Dell Product Group Advanced Engineering (software) Summit.

Six of us are here from Austin/Round Rock, spending time with our peers in our Bangalore Research and Development (R&D) team as well as the Product Development group. It’s an exciting time for software in Dell Product Group, the next generation of Dell PowerEdge Servers will contain some great new embedded management features developed here and designed and architected by a cross-functional Austin/Bangalore team.

While here I also get to spend time with two of the teams working on the Dell Virtual Integrated System. I’ve already learned some valuable insights that have made the 34-hour journey well worth the effort.

However, the point of this post original was really prompted by being back on the road over the past 2-weeks, first up in New Orleans for the Halloween weekend, and now in India, I was remind how far hotels have to go to get their acts together and their duplicity, disconnectedness and dichotomy.

Over the past few weeks I’ve stayed in a host of hotels, I went to New Orleans for voodoo fest, then over to the Johnson Space Center and then headed over to India.

In a “suites” hotel in New Orleans they had the now mandatory reminder that washing towels used a lot of water etc. and to re-use the towels hang them back on the rack. Great, always do that. I rushed out one day and left the bowl, spoon and coffee mug I’d used in the sink. Much to my surprise when I got back they were in the dish washer… so much for minimizing water use…

Same here in Bangalore, it’s well understood that Bangalore has a number of issues around water and water use. I have to say in both the hotels I’ve been in they had the least efficient bathroom I’ve ever used, gallons of water disappearing down the hole…

I left feedback…

0 Responses to “Advanced Engineering Summit”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About & Contact

I'm Mark Cathcart, formally a Senior Distinguished Engineer, in Dells Software Group; before that Director of Systems Engineering in the Enterprise Solutions Group at Dell. Prior to that, I was IBM Distinguished Engineer and member of the IBM Academy of Technology. I'm an information technology optimist.


I was a member of the Linux Foundation Core Infrastructure Initiative Steering committee. Read more about it here.

Subscribe to updates via rss:

Feed Icon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 998 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 83,300 hits

