Why do Analysts blogs make it so hard to have a conversation?

One of the most eloquent parts of blogging is the simple use of pings and trackbacks. It allows blogs to do what the web does best, link related conversations and information.

After writing my most recent blog entry, I noticed something that hadn’t occured to me at all before. Very few IT Industry analysts blogs provide this facility. Variously they require you to fill in forms, answer captchas, register and worse. In deference to Roblin Bloor, he has already posted my comment on his blog. But why might do IT Industry analysts make it so hard, surely not because they want to control the conversation?

This is also a tip-of-the-hat to the boys over at Redmonk.com, whose blogs not only support pings and trackbacks, they also post tweets along with blogs entries. Nice one chaps.

6 Responses to “Why do Analysts blogs make it so hard to have a conversation?”


  1. 1 cathcam August 20, 2009 at 10:52 am

    and just a further comment. Robin Bloors blog, has for the second time failed when trying to post a direct comment. Makes you wonder how all these smart industry analysts can’t even get their blog software to work.

    Here is my comment on your Sun entry Robin. Your blog says its a duplicate but the submit doesn’t get confirmed and the page never refreshed after you submit, it just hangs.

    Robin, if you get a chance, ask IBM what they are doing with their PAVE aka Transitive acquisition. Certainly they might have legal obstacles in emulating SPARC on Power, but they have the technology to do it and using binary emulation that doesn’t require recompilation.

    I wrote this earlier this year https://cathcam.wordpress.com/2009/03/18/whither-ibm-sun-and-sparc/

    • 2 Robin Bloor August 20, 2009 at 11:04 am

      Not sure what the problem is. As far as I’m aware all your comments are added and this has been done automatically. They sit in a moderation queue until approved, but apart from that they do update the database. They may be something goofy in the interface my wordpress theme uses. I’ll take a look.
      I also have the problem that my web site gets swamped by traffic at times and I need to buy more resource (as well as tune it). However I am my development team so that’s not going to happen quickly.

  2. 3 Robin Bloor August 20, 2009 at 11:14 am

    …and just a further comment. I tried adding a comment to your blog and when I did so, the screen just went blank giving me no message as to whether it had been successful or not. A kind of white screen of death. Maybe you are exhibiting the same WordPress symptoms that I am, or something similar. Makes me seriously wonder about all these distinguished engineers, in terms of what exactly is it that distinguishes them?

  3. 4 Bhavya Sahni September 22, 2009 at 9:49 am

    Hello Mark,

    I was going through your blogs and needless to say, they highly enlightened me. I am an M.B.A in Human Resources from International Management Institute, New Delhi, which is one of the good B-schools to do an M.B.A from, in India. I sincerely wish that you can share more of your ideas on the tricky but equally critical techno-human interface and how should H.R managers sustain the wave of ever-changing technology? How should we, as change agents, understand the nuances of setting the whole process of change, right from inception to execution?

    I will await your response to the same.

    Regards,

    Bhavya


  1. 1 Why Do Disinguished Engineer’s Blogs ….? | HaveMacWillBlog (aka Robin Bloor’s Blog) Trackback on August 20, 2009 at 12:04 pm
  2. 2 Appliances – Good, bad or virtual ? « Adventures in systems land Trackback on October 15, 2009 at 1:54 pm

Leave a Reply

About & Contact

I'm Mark Cathcart, formaly a Senior Distinguished Engineer, in Dells Software Group; before that Director of Systems Engineering in the Enterprise Solutions Group at Dell. Prior to that, I was IBM Distinguished Engineer and member of the IBM Academy of Technology. I'm an information technology optimist.

Blog Stats

  • 82,832 hits

Subscribe to updates via rss:

Feed Icon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 586 other followers


