(Belated) Leaving drinks in London

Since I’m coming over to the UK to get my new machine readable visa inserted in my passport, it’s a great opportunity for a “leaving drink”. So consider this an open invitation to all my former IBM UK Colleagues, either current or past, and any customers, analysts, journalists or consultants that I worked with.

I’ll be at the Archduke on Concert Hall Approach between IBM South Bank at Waterloo Station from 5.30pm onwards on February 23rd to buy drinks. I was going to say I’d be easy to find since I’ll be the one in cowboy boots and hat, but that would be an untrue stereotype for Austin, and decent cowboy boots are expensive, and I doubt I can find a hat big enough for my head 😉 – So I’ll pass on that idea.

If you can make it along it would be great to see you, even if you just have time to stop in and say “goodbye”. Feel free to add a comment if you can or can’t make it, in case I need to make any special arrangements with the Archduke.

6 Responses to “(Belated) Leaving drinks in London”


  1. 1 Alan Chambers February 17, 2009 at 8:45 am

    Hi Mark. I probably won’t make it to the Archduke, though if I happen to be in London that day I’ll certainly try to look in.

    So – good luck with everything and sorry you’ve jumped ship.

    I’m curious about one thing: did Dell create the title of DE specially for you, seeing as you already were one at IBM and liked it?

    I guess I need to find a new mentor – but many thanks for all your support in the past.

    All the best!

    Alan

  2. 2 Andy Piper February 17, 2009 at 9:54 am

    Hope to make it, Mark – look forward to seeing you.

  3. 3 cathcam February 17, 2009 at 11:02 am

    Alan, there is one other Dell DE, Jimmy Pike, who builds our cloud, dense server hardware, and a Dell Fellow in the storage group as far as I’m aware.

    Previously there have been other Dell Fellows over the years including Karl Shubert, who was also CTO, La Vaughn F. Watts, Joe Bell who was, I believe, a Senior Fellow.

    My position is as far as I can relate it to IBM, similar to that of a Fellow who is also a Vice President. Except I’m neither a Fellow or a vice president with reporting staff. Once I have made the changes I want to the platform and systems management strategy, I’m hoping to be able to work with Dell HR to work on technical careers, mentoring, professions etc.

    Happy to continue to discuss from time to time if you want. I guess we can pretty easily avoid any professional conflicts re confidentiality.

  4. 4 andrewferrier February 20, 2009 at 4:23 am

    Mark, never met you, but would be curious to – so would like to pop along if I’m welcome.

    I also passed along your invite to my dad, who may be putting in an appearance.

  5. 5 Ludovic March 3, 2009 at 4:35 am

    Hey Mark,

    Sorry I missed your drinks, this is a shame. Glad you ended up in a good home -hope to see you some time….

    Ludovic.

  6. 6 stevewoodmeuk April 6, 2009 at 5:39 am

    Hi Mark, I’m a little embarrassed about catching up with your move so late… as it happens I was actually in Austin whilst you were in the Archduke 🙂 …. anyhow, best wishes in your new role. A beer may be next time your across the pond ?


Leave a Reply

About & Contact

I'm Mark Cathcart, formally a Senior Distinguished Engineer, in Dells Software Group; before that Director of Systems Engineering in the Enterprise Solutions Group at Dell. Prior to that, I was IBM Distinguished Engineer and member of the IBM Academy of Technology. I'm an information technology optimist.


I was a member of the Linux Foundation Core Infrastructure Initiative Steering committee. Read more about it here.

Subscribe to updates via rss:

Feed Icon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 936 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 84,144 hits

