Managing your career

No, not the verb, the noun.

One of my early posts in this blog was “A. Seven – Q. Ways to measure progress ?”, a response to an entry on Brian Peacocks internal blog. Thursday last week I had the pleasure of doing the pitch behind the post, to the world-wide IBM Assistant Technical Staff Member(ATSM) community. Although “corny“, one of the phrases that is a staple in the presentation is “Make sure change is something that happens for you, not to you”.

It stuck in my mind. When I got off a flight from the UK on Tuesday night, actually early Wednesday morning, I decided that I needed to live up to that mantra.

And so it was after some frantic last minute activities yesterday, I’m pleased to announce that today I signed form to become a full IBM US employee as of today. Nothing much else changes, I’m still leading the marketing requirements, scenarios and related work on Systems Management. I’m pulling together a number of important threads for the p7 based server, and I lead/own the Power Systems Appliance strategy work. But as of today I do that as a full IBM Corporation employee and will be resigning from IBM United Kingdom, and at least for the foreseable future, no more assignments. Colour me really excited.

Make sure change is something that happens for YOU, not to you.

[Update: I’ve uploaded the slides after a couple of requests, you can view them online or download from slideshare.net here. ]

2 Responses to “Managing your career”


  1. 1 Debbe Kennedy, GIBM November 8, 2007 at 9:51 pm

    Hi Mark!

    Thanks for sharing your new on my post on the GIBM blog.
    Congratulations! I had many wonderful assignments at IBM and I’ve never forgotten the “colour me really excited” feeling. It is the best!

    Any interest in blogging on GIBM monthly as a contributing author?

    Debbe Kennedy
    GIBM Contributing Author

  2. 2 Ethan McCarty November 13, 2007 at 10:28 am

    I don’t think that expression is corny at all. Too many people wait for the world to happen to them rather than getting up and making the world happen for them. I’m glad to see you’re in the right group 😉


Leave a Reply

About & Contact

I'm Mark Cathcart, formally a Senior Distinguished Engineer, in Dells Software Group; before that Director of Systems Engineering in the Enterprise Solutions Group at Dell. Prior to that, I was IBM Distinguished Engineer and member of the IBM Academy of Technology. I'm an information technology optimist.


I was a member of the Linux Foundation Core Infrastructure Initiative Steering committee. Read more about it here.

Subscribe to updates via rss:

Feed Icon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 887 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 83,829 hits

